Password Protected Directories
Understand more on password-protected directories and what they bring to your web site.
A password-protected directory or area is a folder which may be accessed when a username and a password are typed in, so no unauthorized individuals could see its content. This function could be used for the primary folder of a particular site or only for a specific subfolder based on your needs. For example, when you are developing a new website and you don't want people to see it prior to it being ready, you have to prohibit the access to it as a whole, and if you need only some people to be able to access certain files, you are able to password-protect only a particular folder, while the rest of the Internet site could be seen by everybody. Anyway, a “403 Forbidden” error page will appear in the event that the login details the visitor inputs aren't right. Even a direct link to a file will not work provided any folder above it is password-protected.
Password Protected Directories in Shared Web Hosting
Setting up a password-protected area shall take only a few clicks and a few seconds when you host your sites inside a shared web hosting account with us. You shall not need to do anything difficult - you will need to pick a domain/subdomain, to select which folder under it should be protected, and then to type in the login name and password that will be used to access that folder. When a number of individuals need their own login credentials, there won't be a problem to set up several different usernames with access to the very same folder. All secured folders will appear with a padlock icon in the File Manager section, so you shall always know where this function is enabled. If you wish to deactivate the protection function for any folder, you can deactivate it from the very same section of the Control Panel where you have enabled it.